3.01 The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Central Piedmont Community College is a corporate body established under the authority of Chapter 115-D of the General Statutes of North Carolina. It is the legal body responsible for the College, which it holds in trust.

The responsibilities of the Board include establishing broad College policies, adopting long-range plans and goals, securing adequate financial resources to support the College goals, securing and holding title to real property required by the College, and selecting and evaluating the President of the College.

The Board is comprised of twelve members: four appointed by the Governor, four appointed by the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners, and four appointed by the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Board members serve four-year terms. The President of the Student Government Association is a non-voting member.

The officers of the Board, elected annually, are the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary. The Board performs its work through four standing committees: the Executive Committee, the Finance, Facilities, and Audit Committee, the Academic and Instructional Programs Committee, and the Student Success and Strategic Initiatives Committee.

Regular public meetings of the Board are held on the first Wednesday of January, March, May, July, September, and November. Occasionally the meeting schedule may be altered. Chapter Two of Policies and Procedures contains the bylaws of the Board.