Innovation of the Year

2012 Winner

Each year, the League for Innovation sponsors the Innovation of the Year to recognize best practices among the League colleges. CPCC’s Employee Recognition Committee selects our local winner, and the CPCC Foundation contributes $1,000 to support the winning program or department.


This year, the Committee was most impressed with the work of Scott Lewis from Information Technology Services.

Scott’s innovation was the development of a software utility commonly known as the GNAT tool. (GEE-NAT) This tool is used to create a network account that allows guests of the College to effortlessly login to the library’s computer systems and access resources. This tool has streamlined the workflow for support staff by combining several tasks into a single easy-to-use interface, yet it offers a robust set of options to tailor a guest account to meet the client’s request.


Scott is recognized as an exceptional colleague who is always open to ideas and who continues to support this software in any way he can, including the release of several updates.