Use of College Vehicles (all)
College Vehicle Driving Regulations
- Only staff and faculty, full or part-time, will be allowed to operate college-owned vehicles.
- Only authorized categories of passengers are allowed to ride in college-owned vehicles; students, faculty, staff, invited guests of faculty or staff.
- Do not use cell phones while refueling college owned vehicles.
- Hand held cell phones should not be used while operating a college-owned vehicle.
- Smoking is prohibited in college-owned vehicles .
- The use of seat belts is enforced according to state law.
- No person shall leave a college-owned vehicle unattended without first stopping the engine and removing the keys according to state law.
- No students will be allowed to operate college-owned vehicles.
- Employees who drive college-owned vehicles are required to immediately report to their supervisor the following situations:
- any moving traffic law convictions occurring after signing the initial agreement
- suspension/revocation of state drivers license occurring after signing the initial agreement
- traffic accident involving a college-owned vehicle or a privately owned vehicle if on college business
- injuries sustained by the employee or third parties
- damage the employee caused to college-owned vehicles
- Employees who fail to inform their immediate supervisor of any of the situations mentioned in #9 of this section will be in violation of college driving regulations and subject to disciplinary action and/or loss of college-vehicle driving privileges.
- The immediate supervisor of an employee that has reported to them situations described in #9 of this section are required to forward the information to the Risk Management office within a 24-hour time frame.
- College driving policy will be signed by potential employee drivers
Minimum guidelines to evaluate potential employee drivers
- Employee must hold a valid North Carolina or South Carolina driver’s license.
- Any employee with more than 2 “current” convictions of a moving violation and corresponding state points or at fault accidents (“current” means the period necessary for points to be deleted from the state driver’s license record—usually three (3) years) will not be allowed to operate college-owned vehicles.
- Any employee with a conviction of a major violation within the last 3 years will not be allowed to operate a college vehicle (major violations would include DUI, vehicular homicide, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident in which bodily injury resulted, or assault with a motor vehicle).
College Periodic Audit
The college will review annually the driving records of potential employee drivers.
New Hires of the College
Vehicle driving criteria/policy will be part of the new hire orientation.
A small fleet of college-owned passenger vans is available by reservation for group transportation. These vehicles include:
- 2 Ford Escapes - (5 passengers)
- Dodge Caravan - (7 passengers)
- Chrysler Town & Country - (7 passengers)
How to reserve a motor pool vehicle
- Before reserving a van, please read the ***College Vehicle Driving Regulations and Procedures***.
- Reserve Motor Pool vehicle through the Facilities Services Administration at 6027 between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. at least 7 days prior to driving a college-owned vehicle.
- Intended driver of Motor Pool vehicle submit MVR Inquiry Form to the Risk Management office, for processing through the DMV at least 7 days prior to driving a college-owned vehicle.
- Upon approval from Risk Management, to drive a college-owned vehicle, employee will complete and sign the Motor Pool vehicle check-out form entitled “CPCC Vehicle Use Authorization.”
- Keys may be picked up at the Facilities Services Center at 1325 E 7th Street, at the 2nd floor reception area.
- Follow established Motor Pool check-out and check-in procedures.
- Employee will be responsible for following the ***College Vehicle Driving Regulations***.
- Occupancy of 15 passenger vans is limited to 9 persons including driver.
- 15 passenger vans should not be driven in excess of 65 mph.
- Before driving a college-owned vehicle, departmental employees must have a DMV drivers record check processed through the Risk Management office.
- Employee will be responsible for following the College Vehicle Driving Regulations
- Supervisor will conduct an evaluation of motor vehicle accidents involving his/her employee. They will recommend if the employee is eligible to continue driving a college vehicle.
The college will maintain current records regarding maintenance on all college-owned vehicles
- Each college-owned vehicle will have a current insurance policy card displayed for easy access
- Each college-owned vehicle will have a current informational guide for reporting accidents displayed for easy access
Conservation of Petroleum Products (Gas)
- Reduce idling time
- Car pooling to seminars and training classes
- Use conference calls to eliminate excessive trips
- Use smallest vehicles with highest mileage for mission
Reporting of Accidents
Information regarding accidents involving college-owned vehicles or privately-owned vehicles that are used in college business must be reported to the employee’s immediate supervisor or directly to the Risk Management office, as soon as possible.
Reporting Process for Accidents Involving College Owned Vehicles
- Report accident to CPCC’s security office and operator’s supervisor.
- Security forwards a copy of CPCC’s Security Report with police report (if available) to the Risk Management office as quickly as possible.
- Risk Management forwards copies of reports to insurance provider’s claim department.
- Communication connected with a claim is centralized in the Risk Management office.
- Operator’s supervisor forwards to the Risk Management office, a copy of the supervisory review regarding the accident
The college will include in its overall safety program a driver-training module on an annual basis
Risk Management Responsibilities
- Maintained in-house files on potential employee drivers
- Processing of claims
- Processing of DMV checks through insurance provider.