Ruth G. Shaw Academic Learning Center

Site Banner

The Academic Learning Center (ALC) is here to serve the academic needs of the students of CPCC. The ALC is composed of dedicated staff members who each have an interest in student academic success at Central Piedmont Community College. For any student enrolled in a curriculum course who needs individual assistance in addition to that which they are receiving in the classroom, we have caring qualified staff who are ready to help them learn.

The ALC is committed to helping students in three crucial areas:

  1. Overcoming difficulties with academic coursework.
  2. Promotion of independent learning.
  3. Proactive endowment of students with skills necessary to promote academic and life-long learning success.

 

The staff of the ALC is dedicated to supporting students who seek to strengthen their academic deficiencies through student focused interventions in order to build academic confidence and success.

JamesCodyCochrane.jpg

James (Cody) Cochrane
Writing Coordinator

Degree(s) Educational Background: BA. English, Midwestern State University

Campus/Office Location: Levine Campus, LV 2313

704 330-2722

Ext. 7310

james.cochrane@cpcc.edu

Florence

Florence Patterson
Director

Degree(s) Educational Background: B.A. Biology, Buffalo State University

M.Ed. Education (Curriculum and Instruction), American Intercontinental University

Campus/Office Location: Central Campus,Central High Room 103

704-330-6615

florence.patterson@cpcc.edu

Lisa

Lisa Davis
Administrative Assistant

Degree(s) Educational Background: B.A., Business Administration, Strayer University

Campus/Office Location: Central Campus, Central High Rm. 103

704 330-6423

lisa.davis@cpcc.edu

 

Clay

Clay Seale
Math Coordinator

Degree(s)/Educational Background: B.S. Mathematics, University of Washington

Campus/Office Location: Central Campus, Central High Room 103

704-330-6352

clay.seale@cpcc.edu

Carmen Williams

Carmen Williams
Science Coordinator

Degree(s)/Educational Background: B.S. Biology, Bennett College

Campus/Office Location: Central Campus, Central High Room 103

704-330-6393

carmen.williams@cpcc.edu

 

Deborah

Deborah Rivers
Writing Coordinator

Degree(s)/Educational Background: B.A. English, Mars Hill College

M.A.Higher Education, Appalachian State University

Campus/Office Location: Central Campus, Central High Room 103

704-330-6353

deborah.rivers@cpcc.edu

KDimond headshot.jpg

Kelly Dimond

Math Coordinator

Degree(s)/Educational Background:

B.S. Marketing, Minor in Mathematics, UNC at Wilmington

M.Ed.Education (Mathematics Concentration), Arcadia University

Campus/Office Location: Levine Campus, Levine II 2310

704 330-7310

kelly.dimond@cpcc.edu

 

 

Brian Pilkerton

Brian Pilkerton
Math Coordinator

Degree(s)/Educational Background: B.A. Elementary Education, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

MA, Math Education, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Campus/Office Location:  Central Campus, Central High Room 103

704 330-3578

brian.pilkerton@cpcc.edu

 

Bionca Shields

Math Coordinator

Degree(s)Educational Background:

B.A. Mathematics, UNC at Charlotte

Campus/Office Location:

Cato Campus Cato II

Rm. 270

704 330-7808

bionca.shields@cpcc.edu

 

 

 

 

For a listing of the hours of operation for all ALC services please visit our Hours of Operation page.

We are located on the Central Campus, Room CH103.   704 330-6474